Hi everybody !
I wandered upon an interesting situation the other night, and I haven't been able to quite figure out the correct answer, here it is :
Player A has a [[[Frogmite]]] in her graveyard. Player B has a [[[Tarmogoyf]]] in play.
Player A casts [[[Lightning Bolt]]] targetting [[[Tarmogoyf]]]. Player B lets it resolve.
What happens ?
The [[[Tarmogoyf]]] is a 2/3 when the spell is cast, but it should be a 3/4 at the time of resolution; but does it die before the [[[Lightning Bolt]]] hits the graveyard ?
No, it doesn't die. After [[[Lightning Bolt]]] resolves the State Based Actions are checked, but since the bolt is already in a graveyard [[[Tarmogoyf]]] is a 3/4 and wont die.
119.6. Damage marked on a creature remains until the cleanup step, even if that permanent stops being a creature. If the total damage marked on a creature is greater than or equal to its toughness, that creature has been dealt lethal damage and is destroyed as a state-based action (see rule 704). All damage marked on a permanent is removed when it regenerates (see rule 701.11, “Regenerate”) and during the cleanup step (see rule 514.2).
Here is how state-based actions work:
704.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 116, “Timing and Priority”), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions simultaneously as a single event. If any state-based actions are performed as a result of a check, the check is repeated; otherwise all triggered abilities that are waiting to be put on the stack are put on the stack, then the check is repeated. Once no more state-based actions have been performed as the result of a check and no triggered abilities are waiting to be put on the stack, the appropriate player gets priority. This process also occurs during the cleanup step (see rule 514), except that if no statebased actions are performed as the result of the step’s first check and no triggered abilities are waiting to be put on the stack, then no player gets priority and the step ends.
Asked: 2012-01-30 22:19:27 -0500
Seen: 213 times
Last updated: Jan 31 '12