asked 2013-03-01 08:24:16 -0500GendoIkari
The comprehensive rules state:
700.4a Although the text “[This permanent] is indestructible” is an ability, actually being indestructible is neither an ability nor a characteristic. It’s just something that’s true about a permanent.
Just curious, is there a reason for this? Hexproof, Flying, Shroud, are all abilities, right? They seem very similar to indestructible in terms of the type of effect they have on the creature and the game.
Would any card interactions be different if indestructible were an ability? (I assume in that case instead of [This permanent] is indestructible", cards would say "[This permanent] has indestructible."
The quality of being indestructible isn't itself an ability or characteristic in the same way that the following are neither abilities nor characteristics:
However, there do exist abilities that confer each of these qualities:
Unlike the other three, the ability that confers indestructibility it is not a keyworded ability. Perhaps somewhere down the line they will come up with a new keyword ("Invincibility") whose meaning is "This permanent is indestructible." In this case, they would be able to have an effect that reads, "Target creature gains Invincibility until end of turn." This would grant the ability Invincibility, which in turn confers the quality of being indestructible.
As another example, consider the card [[[Muraganda Petroglyphs]]]. While this in in play, let's say that I cast the following spells:
At this point, creatures A and B both have the quality that they can't be blocked except by creatures with flying or reach. Creatures C and D both have the quality that they are indestructible. Creatures B and D still get the bonus from the Pteroglyphs (assuming they didn't have any abilities before) because they have only gained qualities, not abilities. Whereas creatures A and C have both gained abilities, so they no longer gain any bonus from the Pteroglyphs.
answered 2013-03-01 11:20:32 -0500Shushoto
The distinction is that an object gaining indestructibility remains the same object. For example, a copy effect will not see the change and can't pass it on to a [[[Clone]]]. Indestructibility, unblockablility and the like only serve as shortcuts for stating that the appropriate action cannot occur.
101.2. When a rule or effect allows or directs something to happen, and another effect states that it can't happen, the "can't" effect takes precedence. Example: If one effect reads "You may play an additional land this turn" and another reads "You can't play land cards this turn," the effect that precludes you from playing lands wins.
Asked: 2013-03-01 08:24:16 -0500
Seen: 130 times
Last updated: Mar 01