asked 2013-02-09 09:11:24 -0500GeneralGamer
[[Delver of Secrets]][[Insectile Aberration]]
So lets say my opponent has an upkeep ability that states "Deal 2 damage to target creature". Since I have priority and let's say I use Delver's upkeep ability to check my card and it's an instant, it transforms my Delver to the Insectile. Since it's transformed is it still the same target creature even though it's not the same name?
answered 2013-02-09 10:43:37 -0500Shushoto
A transformed card does not become a new object. Targets, equipment, enchantments and so on will only be removed if the transformed card changes characteristics to make those effects invalid.
711.7. When a double-faced permanent transforms, it doesn't become a new object. Any effects that applied to that permanent will continue to apply to it after it transforms. Example: An effect gives Village Ironsmith (the front face of a double-faced card) +2/+2 until end of turn and then Village Ironsmith transforms into Ironfang. Ironfang will continue to get +2/+2 until end of turn.
In this case though, APNAP order will place Delver's trigger on the stack under the damage trigger, so it will be destroyed before transforming.
101.4. If multiple players would make choices and/or take actions at the same time, the active player (the player whose turn it is) makes any choices required, then the next player in turn order (usually the player seated to the active player's left) makes any choices required, followed by the remaining nonactive players in turn order. Then the actions happen simultaneously. This rule is often referred to as the "Active Player, Nonactive Player (APNAP) order" rule. Example: A card reads "Each player sacrifices a creature." First, the active player chooses a creature he or she controls. Then each of the nonactive players, in turn order, chooses a creature he or she controls. Then all creatures chosen this way are sacrificed simultaneously.